The restless nature of AGNs:

variability as a probe of the central engine

Naples, Italy, 20-23 May 2013


Scientific rationale

It is widely accepted that variability provides important information on the nature of the emission mechanisms and the geometry of the central source in Active Galactic Nuclei. This is an exciting time in the field of AGN variability, due to the wealth of new results produced in the last few years. This conference intends to focus on radio-quiet sources, discussing our current understanding of the central source variability across the IR, optical, and UV regimes up to hard X-rays, and the clues that variability provides about the physics and structure of the AGN phenomena. The contributions are intended to address the problem of AGN variability both from the observational and theoretical point of view, on short and long time scales, presenting results and expectations from wide-field/deep surveys, pointed observations, ground-based and space observatories.

Download the Conference poster


  1. X-ray flux and spectral variability

  2. Outflows and SED variability

  3. The UV-X ray connection

  4. Variability on the optical band: reverberation, the continuum and the full sky surveys

  5. AGN variability analysis methods

  6. Variability in MHD simulations of accretion flows

Review and invited speakers: O.Blaes, W.Brandt, M.Cappi, G.Djorgovski, C.Donalek, R.Edelson, S.Gezari, M.Goad, S.Kaspi, B.Kelly, S.Mathur, I.McHardy, H.Noda, M.Paolillo, G.Risaliti, B.Peterson, G.Ponti, P.Uttley, F.Vagnetti

Important information: The conference will start on the morning of Monday May 20th and end on Thursday May 23rd at lunchtime. Thursday afternoon is dedicated to social events. Check the Program and Social events pages for more details and updates. Make sure to make your Hotel reservation in advance following the suggestions in the Venue page.

Scientific Organizing Commettee

W. Brandt (US) - Penn State University (US)

A. Comastri - INAF, Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (IT)

G. Djorgovski - California Institute of Technology (US)

C. Done - Durham University (UK)

N. Gehrels - NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (US)

K. Makishima - Tokyo University (JP)

G. Matt - University Roma 3 (IT)

I. McHardy - Soton University (UK)

M. Paolillo - University Federico II of Napoli (IT)

I. Papadakis - University of Crete (GR)

B. Peterson - Ohio State University (US)

Local Organizing Commettee

  1. M.Paolillo - University Federico II of Napoli

G. Covone - University Federico II of Napoli

  1. A.Rifatto - INAF Osservatorio di Capodimonte

  2. E.Piedipalumbo - University Federico II of Napoli

E. Iodice - INAF Osservatorio di Capodimonte

Sponsor Institutions

Physics Department University Federico II of Napoli

INAF - Capodimonte Observatory

Società Italiana di Fisica della Gravitazione